Test Add

: Microfracture and soccer  ( 17 )

malouf21

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • : 1
  • : 0
Microfracture and soccer
« : January 08, 2018, 08:58:31 PM »
Hello, this is my first time writing here and i would really appreciate hearing some advice, getting help or reading experiences related to my issue.

i play soccer for my college and i got tackled and damaged articular cartilage in my knee. i had a microfracture surgery on my left knee about 4 mouths ago (august 2017). the first 3 months were rough as i was still feeling the same pain as before surgery, but closer to 4 moths post op most of the pain went away.

i decided to start doing light jogs which felt good. my physio told me i can start sprinting and so i did. i felt pain while sprinting but it was nothing like before surgery. two weeks ago i decided to play a little bit of soccer and just kick the ball around with some friends. during this time i started feeling more pain in the microfracture area which i think was because of sharp turns and movements. the pain has gone down but it is still there. i usually get ultrasound therapy which helps with the pain but my next physio therapy appointment is in one month.

i am really afraid that i have messed up the surgery.

can anyone tell me if they have experienced something similar?
can i get a cortisone shot or something to make the pain go away once and for all ?
how would i know if fibrocartilage has grown all over the defect ?
how sure can i be that i will be pain free and able to play again ?

i have been really down and upset, soccer is basically my life and i haven't been able to play for almost a year now. i would appreciate any help. Thank you.

BarefootPilgrim

• Regular Poster
  • : 56
  • : 3
Re: Microfracture and soccer
« #1 : January 09, 2018, 08:54:30 AM »
Hey there,

I'm sorry to hear about your injury.